The Catcher in the Rye

“A Catcher in the Rye”
By J.D. Salinger

book Catcher In The RyeA wacky tale of teenage angst and alienation, “The Catcher in the Rye” (1951) is the first installment in J. D. Salinger’s controversial nine-part baseball series that also featured such classic titles as “The Shortstop Ordered Single Malt” (1954) and “The Third Baseman Killed My Brother” (1958).

With his refreshing, shoot-from-the-hip assessments of which pro baseball stars are “crumby” and “phony,” protagonist Holden Caulfield has become a worldwide icon for post-modern hardball nihilism.

The book is said to be very popular among classic literature enthusiasts and serial killers.

Related reading: “The Designated Hitter Strikes Again”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *